dumb luck

July 9,2012. Taboona was obviously enjoying all this attention and even drank out of a small bowl of water that the girl held up to her, as if on Que. See, she said “she was thirsty”. The Girl said that someone had stolen her horse and tried to explain to me why she had “stolen” mine!

Her sister or some young guy with a bra on asked me if she/he could ride Taboona and I refused. I had , had enough of these people! But because Taboona seemed to be  enjoying herself I could not get too angry, in fact I wish I would have thought at the time to hook them up with Ekone Ranch and maybe the girl could work out a scholarship or some arrangement to do a  youth horse camp!.

After the Police Officer took all his “obligatory” information about me, which really seemed unnecessary under the circumstances, the drama was over! Maybe if my cart would have been there with Taboona, none of this would have happened?

Most of the night it felt like a thunder shower was imminent and there was lightning over the East Simcoes! I tried to sleep but it seemed impossible. I started rigging her up at 3am and we left Goldendale at 5am. There were big cloud formations moving around the sky and it got unusually cold for a while!

About 7am or so the sun broke through and the scorching heat continued! Someone in a big pickup hailed me to a stop and warned me that there were a lot of very inconsiderate drivers on this road! Well there was not much I could do about that. But one time Taboona shied from a vehicle and went into the ditch but we bounced back out pretty quick, fortunately!

We stopped on a side road, (Cunliff Rd.)  just south of Block House and took a rest. There was water there and I cut canary grass for Taboona. I had a lunch/breakfast there and took a knap. I poured water under Taboona’s saddle pad and collar in an attempt to cool her off with out unrigging her.

We pushed on through the heat and the sometimes inconsiderate drivers. However    most people were very kind and some stopped to take a picture, although most people did not calculate my speed or they expected me to stop, I am not sure but nearly every time I was passing them before they got their cameras ready! I was more inclined to accommodate the people who asked me if they could take a picture. I was after all on a mission and it took a lot of Captain Ahabness to do this!

We eventually made it as far as my friend Jan’s place and she was home. She fixed me up a plate of toast and eggs but she had to leave for a wine tasting event. We did pull up unannounced so that was not a problem with us. We rested more and I cooled Taboona more with the abundant well water!

At this point in our journey it was becoming evident that Taboona’s back feet were wearing more on the pavement than I had anticipated! Perhaps pulling this heavy “training cart” was also a factor? So with duct tape and an ace bandage I figured out a fastening method to attach the two “sizing boots” I had inadvertently “borrowed “from Don Bryan! Kind of a very fortunate bit of “dumb luck”! One was a size larger than a good fit so I shimmed it up on the inside with layers of duct tape! And with every step I could hear one boot slopping a little… The secret to success here I  could see was to keep her at a steady walk, if possible and to keep taking a visual to make sure she had them both on!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

