horse shoe bend

Reed informed me that the building was the office complex for the Yakima Indian Nation Fish enhancement experiments. And most of the people who worked there were white men fish biologists.
I cut the lining out of my brother’s gortex rain coat and Reed took the outer, defunct shell, as garbage! I kept the lining for a little more insulation. And Reed lent me his personal rain coat for the rest of my hike. I lent him my light weight binoculars as a kind of collateral in case anything happened to his coat. Had Reed not been able to resupply me I would have had to abort the mission, so I was very thankful? I paid him for the supplies and he went back to his normal life.
I was having a nice evening there when another fellow fish biologist came up and asked me where I was going to go to the bathroom. I told him I would burn it up in the fire. Well he said he did not want his dog rubbing it and offered me the use of their out house that was at the end of the road that went past the buildings. I thanked him and said sure I would do that.
Along about 5 or 6 pm apparently the last man to leave the fish experimental place was pulling out, and then he saw my camp and turned around and drove up, got out of his rig and in a gruff manner asked me what I was doing there. I told him my story and that the first man had given me permission and he asked me what he looked like and I said well he did not look like an Indian. After hearing most of my story he began to soften up a little and we had a pretty good conversation, in closing he said that the next time I came through there I had better hide better!
I had no more encounters with human beings and there was almost no traffic on that end of Horse Shoe Bend Road. I liked that… It was also an interesting spot because on the other side of my camp was the Rails to Trail, trail. I noticed that some people were driving there cars on the trail and had a key to the gate?
This amazing and beautiful place has a “contested” feel to it; an intensity of cross roads, river and trail and a joining of canyons where Swell Creek comes in.
The next day, now the 8th of June I walk up Horse Shoe Bend Road leaving my camp as usual; as no trace, as humanly possible, with the exception of screening my fire pit of bits of charcoal, I do my best to leave no trace of my presence.
I really like this road going up the side of Klickitat Canyon, a pretty steep grade for a horse and cart but probably doable. I took a break near the top and noticed there was water in the creek. After about 5 miles I got to the very top of the break and realized I did not want to follow the actual road because there were no trees for shelter and possibly no drinkable water and the road was strait with the exception of 90 degree turns. And camping on the windy, cold ,open farm land, with someone’s window staring out at me did not feel good at the time.
So I headed out nearly strait east across some pastures of the horse shoe bend ranch land. Admittedly now trespassing. This did not feel good. The sign did not say I would be prosecuted so I took my chances. I walked toward one of the south branches of the little Klickitat River where there were trees and low places to walk along unseen. A four wheeler passed near me once when I was resting among some boulders. I was sending out my prayers of invisibility and was walking along where the open land meets the timbered land and walked right by what looked like one of the caretakers places and was not seen and the dogs did not bark.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

