Brother Jim

I was a little cold from no morning fire and it started to rain. My older brother Jim had recently died and I inherited his gortex rain coat but it leaked. I was getting more wet and cold as I walked down into the canyon. Oddly enough my lips were getting dry also and I found some chap stick that Jim had left in his coat. When I took the cap off the Chap Stick tube I saw that it had been used and I thought that his lips were probably the last to touch this. I hesitated before I touched it to my lips; thinking, this was our last kiss, our final good-bye. A strange twist of fate because other wise this coat was about to be the death of me!
By the time I got to the bottom of the canyon I was seriously cold and wet. I walked over the bridge beyond the river and built a fire along side this road (horse shoe bend) and about a quarter mile from a building. I was kind of hoping someone would find me , I was not sure I was going to be able to get a fire lit. I was so cold and shaky but I did finally get a fire going and found a bunch of pine knots full of pitch. So I started to relax and stopped shaking. I set up my tarp and was feeling much better.
I was drying my wet clothes, when a man drove up and asked me if I knew whose land I was camping on? I said no, I did not. He said well you are camping on Indian Land. I said to myself; well you don’t look like an Indian. I told him I had just walked here from Trout Lake and I could see that kind of change the tone of our relationship right away. I told him why I built my fire where I did and how I was hoping someone would find me. Fortunately he was nice guy and let me camp there for the rest of the day and that night
After a while Reed showed up with a roasted chicken and everything that I had asked him to bring! I ate almost half of that chicken. I was very hungry. Reed informed me

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

