Colder Morning

      I was a little cold from no morning fire and it started to rain. My older brother Jim had recently died and I inherited his gortex rain coat but it leaked. I was getting more wet and cold as I walked down into the canyon. Oddly enough my lips were getting dry also and I found some chap stick that Jim had left in his coat. When I took the cap off the Chap Stick tube I saw that it had been used and I thought that his lips were probably the last to touch this. I hesitated before I touched it to my lips; thinking, this was our last kiss, our final good-bye. A strange twist of fate because other wise this coat was about to be the death of me!

      By the time I got to the bottom of the canyon I was seriously cold and wet. I walked over the bridge beyond the river and built a fire along side this road (horse shoe bend) and about a quarter mile from a building.  I was kind of hoping someone would find me , I was not sure I was going to be able to get a fire lit. I was so cold and shaky but I did finally get a fire going and found a bunch of pine knots full of pitch. So I started to relax and stopped shaking.  I set up my tarp and was feeling much better.

      I was drying my wet clothes, when a man drove up and asked me if I knew whose land I was camping on? I said no, I did not. He said well you are camping on IndianLand. I said to myself; well you don’t look like an Indian. I told him I had just walked here from TroutLake and I could see that kind of change the tone of our relationship right away. I told him why I built my fire where I did and how I was hoping someone would find me. Fortunately he was nice guy and let me camp there for the rest of the day and that night

     After a while Reed showed up with a roasted chicken and everything that I had asked him to bring! I ate almost half of that chicken. I was very hungry.   Reed informed me that the building was the office complex for the Yakima Indian Nation Fish enhancement experiments. And most of the people who worked there were white men fish biologists.

       I cut the lining out of my brother’s gortex rain coat and Reed took the outer, defunct shell, as garbage! I kept the lining for a little more insulation. And Reed lent me his personal rain coat for the rest of my hike. I lent him my light weight binoculars as a kind of collateral in case anything happene

Leave a Reply

